Turning the corner on ‘driveway moments’

Logo of NPR News.

Image via Wikipedia

If you listen even occasionally to National Public Radio, you probably have heard of a “driveway moment.” That’s the terminology NPR devotees use to describe the way compelling stories (usually during the morning drive show, Morning Edition, or the afternoon drive show, All Things Considered) keep listeners glued to their car seat even after they’ve arrived home. They sit in their driveways, listening to the radio, until the story is finished and they can turn off the car and go inside.

I am much more than an occasional listener to NPR. I listen to NPR almost exclusively at home or in the car, which adds up to maybe 5-6 hours a day during the week and more on the weekend. I’m also a member of Iowa Public Radio, which means once a year I put my money where my ears are, make a pledge, and make room in the kitchen cupboard for another coffee mug.

It occurred to me this evening that the concept of driveway moments has become Pavlovian for me. I got home from work and was sitting in my car listening  to a piece on the fine art of movie sound mixing (apparently, NPR is dredging the bottom of the “Oscar story” barrel on this Friday before the awards show). Suddenly, I had an epiphany: I don’t give two figs about sound mixing. I’m especially not interested in listening to (apparently) well-mixed sound clips from Oscar-nominated movies I haven’t seen. And thus, I don’t actually have to sit in the car listening, while my pizza from Herb & Lou’s gets cold on the seat next to me. I can actually turn off the radio in the middle of the story, get out of the car, and go inside.

It was a very liberating feeling, and a great way to start the weekend. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a pizza to eat.

2 thoughts on “Turning the corner on ‘driveway moments’

  1. I found this turn of phrase in your blog on 'Making words work for you' "…I'm wrestling with some hard questions. not the least of which is "how much do I charge?"Actually, Julia, the correct usage is "Whom do I charge how much?" Not a very auspicious beginning for a piece on how much to charge as an editor. Especially for one so arrogant in her criticism of others."…I won't hesitate to point out flaws, whether it's in the writing, the characters, or the plot."Live by the sword, or fall on it.

Comments are closed.