It is what it is

I was plowing headlong through my RSS feeds in Google Reader earlier tonight, trying to get rid of the nagging little (341) perched next to Unread Items. I recently revamped my whole folder/tagging system in Reader, dumping all the subject-centric tags in favor of a simplified 3-tier system: Gotta Read This, Good Stuff, and If There’s Time. This makes it much easier to keep up with the blogs I’m most interested in, and I  just hit the Mark All Items Read button on the rest whenever posts start to pile up on me.

But I digress. (Geez, if I had a dollar for every time I’ve said that …) I was reading a post on Consumerist promoting a list compiled by the Mint blog of “10 Things You Can Do To Lower Your Auto Insurance Premium“. It’s a pretty good list, but item 7 did give me pause: Buy a vehicle with a theft device or have one installed.

This is probably good advice for some people, but I won’t be taking Mint’s advice any time soon. Let’s review, shall we? I own a 1999 Hyundai Elantra. The windshield is cracked, there’s some rust acne flaring up on the door panels, and I keep forgetting to replace a taillight cover that got broken last winter because I hardly ever walk behind my car. I don’t need to buy some fancy gadget; the entire car is an anti-theft device.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
