Today’s iPod playlist

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these. Since the last one, things have changed a bit. My original 40GB iPod bit the dust after 18 months of constant use. At least it had the grace to do so while still under warranty. After a few weeks of back-and-forth with Apple (they kept sending me refurbished iPods of the same model, each of which worked for about a week or less before dying), they finally gave up and offered me a brand-new, color, 60GB video iPod. The only downside is that the FM transmitter I used to listen to my iPod in the car doesn’t work with the new model, and I haven’t been able to scrounge up the dough for a new one. So I mostly only listen on the bus to and from work, which is a total of about 45 minutes each day.

Enough of the talk. On with the music!

1. Bob Dylan: The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration. I recently added the last of my CD collection to iTunes. It was mostly soundtracks and compilations, including this two-disc set of a bunch of great artists singing the Bob’s songs — sometimes with Bob along for the ride. Highlights from shuffle mode today: Willie Nelson’s version of What Was It You Wanted, and the big finale Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door with everybody on stage (including Kris Kristoffersen, Tom Petty, Johnny Cash, Emmylou Harris and others). The lowlight (and it’s not even close): Johnny Cash and June Carter massacring It Ain’t Me Babe. I adore Cash, and I like Bob’s original version of this song, but this particular take is just excruciatingly bad.

2. Crazy, Jimmie Dale Gilmore. You either love Jimmie Dale’s unique voice or you hate it. I love it, and he sings the bejeebers out of the Patsy Cline classic. This track is from the compilation album Red Hot Country.

3. Sleeping in the Devil’s Bed, Daniel Lanois. From the soundtrack to the Wim Wenders movie Until the End of the World. One of the things I like about compilations and soundtracks is I end up discovering little gems that I’ve never heard before. This track is a perfect example. I really liked the stuff Lanois did with Emmylou Harris on a couple of her albums, but I’ve never really listened to a lot of his other work. I like this one a lot.

4. Since I Fell For You, Natalie Cole & Reba McEntire. From the compilation Rhythm Country & Blues. A great song, two fine singers whose voices meld surprisingly well. Reba does a nice job with the bluesy stuff.

