Thanks, Janet!

I had dinner with Janet last Wednesday at Saigon To Bangkok, a Thai/Vietnamese restaurant that has the hands-down best fried rice I have ever tasted — never greasy and with a fantastic hint of spiciness that raises it from “better than nothing” to “better than anything”. But I digress …

We compared our current reading lists, and I lamented that I have fallen behind this summer. Usually, summers and semester breaks are the times into which I cram as much “just for fun” reading as I can, but due to a little overdue fines issue I have not been able to avail myself of the public library lately. (This, however, is due to change, because I have discovered that the West Branch Public Library accepts canned or nonperishable food items for the food pantry in exchange for fines. It’s 1 food item = $1 in fines, which means I am just 4 jars of salsa, 4 cans of potato cheddar soup and a box of mac&cheese away from having a clean slate.)

Anyway, Janet invited me back to her house to peruse her bookshelves in search of reading material. This is roughly analogous to waving a crack pipe in front of an addict, frankly, but like the junkie I have no shame. I came away with a grocery sack full of books, which I will be writing mini-reviews on as I work my way through the bag. Stay tuned …

