Is it because he’s Canadian?

… or is he just a pompous network windbag who couldn’t speak in the “voice of the people” if he tried? There must be some reason ABC news anchor Peter Jennings spouts sentences such as this when asked by the Washington Post about NBC anchor Tom Brokaw’s farewell:

Good Night, Tom (washingtonpost.com): “Over on ABC, anchor Jennings said he was watching Brokaw’s swan song out of the corner of one eye. ‘Yes, we all keep an eye on one another,’ Jennings said. ‘Friends we are, but compete we do.’ ”

What the hell is that? There’s got to be some sort of middle ground between that sort of stick-up-the-behind phrasing and the stuff I see in my e-mail every day (“how r u? im ok. lol”) I can’t remember the last time I received a non-business e-mail that used complete sentences and at least a passing effort at proper punctualization and capitalization. And the growing popularity of IM and text messaging leaves some people apparently unable to type out such complex words as “you” and “are.”

Believe it or not, I’m trying not to be a jerk about all of this, and I’m all for being casual in casual settings and all, but there’s a limit, dammit! u cant b serious if u rite lik this, imho.

Or maybe I’m just a grumpy old bat who turned 40 this year. Whatever.

